About UWA Tennis Club

Established in 1914 and going strong...


The UWA Tennis Club (UWATC) was established in 1914 and is the oldest sporting club affiliated with the University of Western Australia. The UWA Tennis Centre is the premier destination for tennis in Perth with 14 European-style clay courts, 6 grass courts and modern club rooms.

Pennant Success

In recent years, UWA Tennis Club become arguably the most successful tennis club in Western Australia. This is evident through the club being awarded the prestigious 'UWA Sports Club of the Year' honour for three consecutive years. This award is in recognition of our excellent membership, financial management and participation in competition. The UWATC is also the current 2009/2010 Boys State League champions and are hoping to win back-to-back titles this next summer season.

In 2000/01 UWATC fielded eight senior teams in the Tennis West league. At this stage there weren't any juniors at the club. In 2001/02 ten senior teams and three junior teams represented UWATC. The club had great success with the Men's State League team winning the title for the 2001/02 season and again in 2002/03.

In the summer season 2007/08, the UWA Tennis Club fielded fifteen senior teams in the Tennis West Summer League and five in the juniors. As well as capturing the Ladies State League title, the club won Ladies Division 1 & 2. This was a remarkable achievement and hasn't been accomplished for more than 15 years. For the first time in the history of the club, UWA Tennis Club won the Boys Junior State League title. In the 2009/10 season UWATC entered a Men's & Ladies State League team as well as State League Junior Boys & Girls teams, with the boys coming out victorious once again. We are looking at building our numbers up further for 2010/11 summer season and hopefully winning all 4 titles.